Environment

Russell Meyers For President 2024
8 min readApr 21, 2022

Before I actually start, let me divulge the fact that my daughter in university is studying Environmental Science. I like to believe a small part of that is because of her experience with me, between nature trips and having a 3000 sf garden at one time. Her preference was straight Biology but Environmental Science is one form of applied biology. I love nature and so does she. I’ll also say most vacations I have ever taken have involved nature in some form.

Now, here we go.

I realize too well that some Americans have no concern for the environment. The only things they care about involve their income and preserving their current or anachronistic view of their way of life. For some, I understand they are in fear. Fear of change, fear of losing what they currently have. I empathize with those fears in very real terms. Yet we must adapt or risk a very dark future. Many Americans already are experiencing the neglect of the environment. High cost of living, decreased incomes, lost farms, lost homes, massive wildfires, lost lives.

The first thing to understand is that technologies change over time. At one time in this country, people feared the Industrial Revolution and all the changes it brought about. People feared motor vehicles. Some places banned automobiles of any kind. There…

--

--

Russell Meyers For President 2024

I am running as an Independent for US president in 2024. Peace, Humanity, Prosperity for ALL Americans.